Article: Nick’s gaming machine review – Part 2

Article: Nick’s gaming machine review – Part 2

Nick’s new computer review – Part 2

Last week I started the review of my new gaming computer.  I talked about the NZXT case, the CPU, motherboard and fans.  I’ll be covering the GPU, RAM, power supply and some of my other components this week before moving on to benchmarks.

I use PC Part Picker quite a bit to check compatibility and also to get a rough estimate on my power consumption.  I punched in all the components for this gaming pc and the estimate was around 410w of power.  EVGA had a great deal on their 550w G2 fully modular power supply, it matched my color scheme, has great reviews and would function exactly how I needed.  This was my first time using a fully modular power supply, and it won’t be my last.  With a fully modular power supply you only have to plug in the expansion cables that you need, so no extra wires that you have to hide or tuck away somewhere.  Add that to being in a case with a basement and having an extremely quiet fan, you can’t even tell I have a power supply.

Since my motherboard has some white on it and my theme is black and white, I snagged up 16GB of Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 ram with white heatsinks.  My motherboard runs these at a default of 2133mhz and I haven’t really sat down and played with the overclocking on these yet to see if I can get them any faster.  The motherboard says it will support up to 3200mhz ram if it’s overclocked, but I’ve read most people aren’t getting it that high without having stability issues.  As far as daily gaming and production applications, I don’t think I’d really notice any improvement in performance with overclocking the RAM, which in turn hasn’t made it a high priority for me to fine tune.  Someday I might overclock everything and hopefully notice a good boost overall, which I’ll document and post an article here.

The biggest and most expensive part of my build is the GPU.  I decided on a EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC Gaming ACX 3.0 monster.  It’s overclocked from the factory over the stock speeds of the “Founder’s Edition” GTX 1070 that Nvidia released and it was the same price.  I like the looks of it, reviews were good, I’ve owned a few EVGA video cards in the past and had good luck with them.  To add to the awesomeness of this video card it has white LEDs, which I didn’t know about until I fired up my machine for the first time.  You can imagine my excitement since it matched my theme perfectly.  The graphics card is awesome, everything I expected and hoped it would be.  I’ve played a bunch of games and it handles them great on ultra settings and easily stays above 60 FPS.  I have three 24” monitors running off of this, all using displayport cables and running 1920×1200 resolution.  Most games that support vsync I have the setting turned on, which limits the frame rate of the game to match the refresh rate of the monitor, mine are running at 60 frames per second.  Dying Light, for example, works way better with vsync on.  When vsync was off the frame rate of the game was so high it was actually jittery when looking around and not very smooth.  Once I turned vsync on, the game played butter smooth with all settings maxed.  I’m extremely happy with this card, it does everything I need, and can still be overclocked a little more which gives me some headroom for future games that might need a little more power.

The last major component I’m going to cover is the storage.  I am running a Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD as my main hard drive for the operation system, applications and games.  My second hard drive is a 1TB Western Digital Green drive which I mainly just use for storage.  I love the speed of the Samsung SSD, it’s been extremely reliable, and the computer boots in under 10 seconds.  I went with the Samsung 850 EVO because of all the good reviews from friends and online and plus it’s black which matched my theme.

This machine is definitely a powerhouse.  It’s been able to run any game or application I’ve thrown at it with no issues on resources or lack of power.  I’m really happy with the quality of parts I chose, the color scheme looks great and I still have some room to overclock most of the system without having to buy new components.  Tune in next week for some video benchmarks, more pictures and some final thoughts on the system.

Leave a Reply

